Marino Garcimartín is a jazz saxophonist and multi-instrumentalist from Madrid, with extensive experience in both music performance and pedagogy.

His music education began in the Escuela de Música Moderna de Tres Cantos, where he studied saxophone with  Chefa Alonso and Álvaro Pérez, harmony and ensemble with Juan Miguel Juanilla, piano with Federico Lechner, and flute with Alfredo García. He continued his studies in the Conservatorio Superior de Navarra with teachers as Mikel Andueza and Alberto Arteta, later moving to Barcelona, where he studied with Jon Robles, Gorka Benítez, Víctor de Diego, Gabriel Amargant, Marc Miralta, David Xirgu, Giulia Valle, David Mengual y Sergi Vergés and more, at the Conservatori Liceu. Privately, he has studied with Seamus Blake, Jaleel Shaw, Ariel Brínguez, Vicent Macián and Maikel Vistel.

During his time, in Barcelona he played in many notable groups such as the Supersax Project, Emilio Remesal ER Project, and Bombo Caníbal. He also recorded his first album, Compañeros de Aventuras (Fresh Sound New Talent 2018), a project he co-led with Alejandro Esperanza, a pianist from Aragón. Nowadays he is living in Madrid, where he has collaborated with many groups on the city’s vibrant jazz scene such as the Bob Sands Big Band, AP Big Band, CMQ Big Band, La Resistencia or Norman Hogue Group. Outside the jazz scene he has worked for two consecutive seasons on Leonard Bernstein’s musical West Side Story, in Madrid’s Teatro Calderón as well as on a countrywide tour.

 In addition to his career in live music, he records regularly as a studio musician as well as maintaining a busy teaching schedule, with a decade of experience teaching saxophone, clarinet, flute, music education, modern harmony and improvisation classes.



Fresh Sound New Talent 1000 Series

Alejandro Esperanza (p), Marino Garcimartín (ts, ss), Sergi Vergés (cond), Joan Mar Sauqué (tp, flh), Oriol Fontclara (as), Joan Codina (tb), Carlos Santos (bs), Jaume Darbra (fl), Iván Garriga, Javier Claudio, Marina Férriz, Sinead Cormican, Marta Guillén, Eduardo Felip, Marcel Ignacio, Selena del Olmo, Isabel Arch (violin), Fernando Fresno, Ariadna Bataller, Xavier Rotger, Elena Martínez (violas), Tamara Gómez, Inés de Juan (cellos), Iago Aguado (g), Emilio Martín (b) and Luis Miranda (d).